Citizenship Award

Since 2005, the Citizenship Award has been awarded each year to Belgian or international people, initiatives or organisations who invest in the building of an open, democratic, tolerant and inclusive society, in an exemplary way.

Previous award winners

2005 : Fadela Amara and Job Cohen

2005: Fadela Amara, then chairwoman of the "Ni Putes Ni Soumises” (Neither Whores Nor Submissives) organisation, today secretary of state in the French government and Job Cohen, mayor of Amsterdam. (download pdf Award winner 2005)

2006 : Wannes van de Velde en the Dardenne brothers

2006: Wannes Van de Velde, a Flemish singer, plastic arts creator and writer and brothers Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, film-makers. (download pdf Award winner 2006)

2007 : Khady Koita

2007: Khady Koita, a militant Senegalese human rights activist and the chairwoman of Euronet FGM (European network for the eradication of feminine genital mutilation) and the author of the book Les Mutilées (Mutilated Women). (download pdf Award winner 2007)

2008: Jeanne Devos en Simone Susskind

2008: Jeanne Devos, a militant human rights activist and founder of the National Domestic Workers Movement (MDWM) and Simone Susskind, chairwoman of the Actions in the Mediterranean Association. (download pdf)

2009 : Kif Kif and Les Territoires de la Mémoire

2009 : Kif Kif and Les Territoires de la Mémoire, two Belgian associations wich spread the value of solidarity and dialogue.

2010: Jacqueline Rousseau and Guido Verschueren

2010: Jacqueline Rousseau, founder of Adeppi (Atelier d’Education Permanente pour Personnes Incarcérées) and Guido Verschueren, director of the Central Prison of Leuven.

2011: Stéphane Hessel

2011 : Stéphane Hessel, author of « Time for Outrage: Indignez-vous »

2012: Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish

2012 : Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish, peace activist and author of “ I Shall Not Hate”.